Pei-Fang Hsieh, C6, Lovely

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSs2ITFKFW8

Lovely!

One of my teachers told me after I opened the door of her office and sat down in front of her. “You look so bright and fresh, not like the one you used to be.” She said. “I know that,” I said, “I feel like I’m myself, free and happy.”

This summer vacation for a summer program, I went to Oxford. What I learned is hearing people saying a lot of lovely. When taking pictures, lovely. When seeing nice clothes, lovely. When doing something, lovely. Lovely, lovely, lovely. Finally, I have a conclusion that English people like saying lovely. Just kidding.

Besides classes, we went punting on the River Thames at Oxford. Punting is a punter punts by pushing against the river bed with a pole. The pole is very heavy. Sometimes our boat hit others’ boats. When we were enjoying our lovely time on the Thames River, we heard a big sound, then, a big sound, again. We looked at the sky hopelessly. The sky blackened and soon it began to rain. Luckily, it just rained for a while. When it cleared up, the cloud looked like being painted in water colors. It’s lovely!

One weekend, my friends and I went to Cambridge. Before we went to Cambridge, we tried to practice singing the song, “Farewell Cambridge.” The song is adapted from a Chinese poet, Xu Zhimo’s poetry. I turn the song into English version for you, it’s like:

Softly I am leaving, just as softly as I came; I softly wave goodbye, to the clouds in the western sky.

But finally, we couldn’t sing it, because the punter was talking from the beginning to end when he punted for us. Although we couldn’t sing the song on the River Cam, we found that Xu Zhimo’s poetry “Farewell Cambridge” is true! Lovely is the very word for the River Cam.

By the way, both on the River of Thames in Oxford or on the River Cam in Cambridge, there were always big traffic jam. You should be very careful about your safeness. Punting on the river is very dangerous. One of my new friends even fell into the river. His name is Walter, after the accident, we called him “Walter in water.”

I have used up the whole year’s quota of laugh. At last, I didn’t want to leave. One of my new friends’ friend always goes on a journey. Her friend said,

“The meaning of travel is to leave.” After this journey I think I can add something as follows, “If the meaning of travel is to leave, before leaving, what we can do is to

seize what we can do.”

Oxford is like my second hometown.

After I came back to Taiwan, I received a postcard. It says, “Home, is the place where you were born, where you grew up, and the combination of where make you become such special.” I wrote the postcard in Oxford, and sent it to myself at the end of summer vacation.

In the end, my teacher told me, “in fact, you don’t need to leave Taiwan to seek happiness. What you should do is just leave the place where your mind is used to be, let your mind refresh. And then, you can find the world different.

Lovely! Hope all of us can live a lovely life!

Toastmasters of the Evening

發表迴響

